Case Study: A Trend Analysis of the "Trap Game" Scenario

JROCK1966

Pretty much a regular
Introduction

First, I'll state several quick background facts about me. One, I'm a newbie when it comes to SDQL. Two, I think I am a quick learner though. Three, this write-up concerns the Old Dominion / FIU game from Nov. 11th, 2017. Four, I had a gut feeling this line was off when I first saw it. Please refer to post #3 of the Week 11 ML Dog thread where I stated as much. Five, only after the result did I have the think to investigate this game further. Six, while hindsight thinking is 20/20, I now know how to identify these types of games in the future.

Last edited:
Secondly, it was not my use of SDQL that was so much a problem when I applied it last week. It was my train of thought on how to approach the research. In general, I was trying to find dogs last week that had stats in their favor thinking I can identify games that had a lot going for the team getting points. This line of thinking / thought process / whatever you want to call it I now know is wrong. It's a "public" way to approach capping. Good luck finding those games. For the most part, my results came back 50% which is not very helpful. What I need to think about in the future is the exact opposite. Find either 1) dogs that have almost nothing going for them and the line looks off and/or 2) favorites that are doing great, have a lot going for them, and the line seems very reasonable. This line of thinking lends itself to the ages old "Trap Game" scenario we have all heard about, experienced, but that I have never been able to recognize and prove it exists. Until now that is. With this in mind I played around with some scenarios this am and here is what I found:

Case Study: ODU @ FIU, November 11, 2017: