Golf Indexes/Handicaps and Tourneys/Matches and Cheating

takeit

THE Wife
Does anyone here play golf in tourneys where handicaps are used? If so, do you find there are a lot of cheaters out there? If so, is there anything that can be done about it?

I'm fairly new to tourneys and matches and it seems to be super common. Golf is supposed to be a "gentleman's game" and honest so the common reaction is "it is what it is" and nothing can be done. I feel like there has to be something - I'm not sure what, but I can say that yelling "sand-bagger" during a playoff is frowned upon.

Sandbagging in golf is as old and abundant as flopping is in soccer...sucks but it's a game that some are masters at

I've found that there are basically 3 types of golfers when it comes to handicaps: 1) posts every score every time 2) vanity golfer who only posts his/her good rounds 3) only posts bad scores, especially leading up to a handicapped event. You will never weed out the sandbaggers. And if you're playing in a scramble event, you can bet that there will be rampant cheating. It's just kind of the nature of the beast.

It's so frustrating! I hate giving pops to these people that I KNOW are lying.

May there be a special place in hell for golf cheaters.

Not sure. Start a tax cheat thread and talk about it.
I won't do that. I know golf cheats and I know tax cheats. Was trying to draw a parallel.

Figured you might know both as well and wanted to gauge the similarities

Cheaters cheat

Parallel

and you're welcome

love u toots

#metoo

A person cheats on their taxes can go to jail for tax evasion. A person who lies to increase their index so they get more pops in competition is a total asshole/bitch but it's not illegal and they can't be prosecuted. I really don't see the parallel you speak of.

It's super early for you to be drunk though isn't it?

Cheaters cheat. Legal/illegal isn't relevant....especially golfers who are much more likely to itemize than the average joe