French Open Discussion

BetCrimes1984

CTG Big Brother
I'm mainly a live player in the early rounds, but the 2nd week raises the spectre of match totals & spreads between players who've likely proved themselves to have survived this long, so I'll use this thread to post some musings, and any pre-game bets. Anyone is welcome to wax lyrical with their own hot air since I'm far from an expert, only paying attention to the WTA when it comes to Slams.

Radwa / Errani match with Errani injury and Radwa's apparent resurgence after a month of crap should be an absolute cracker.

Interesting implications for the Joker's state of mind going forward in the tourney...

<nyt_headline type=" " version="1.0">Youth Coach Helped Djokovic Fulfill Many of His Hopes</nyt_headline>

<nyt_byline>By CHRISTOPHER CLAREY

</nyt_byline>Published: June 2, 2013

PARIS — It was Wimbledon they dreamed about together, Jelena Gencic and Novak Djokovic. And it was easy for a golden boy to dream when Gencic, with her luminous blue eyes and soothing voice, kept telling him that such big things were possible. <!--forceinline-->
03clarey-articleInline.jpg
<meta content="http://graphics8.nytimes.com/images/2013/06/03/sports/tennis/03clarey/03clarey-articleInline.jpg" itemprop="identifier"><meta content="190" itemprop="height"><meta content="270" itemprop="width"><meta content="Andrej Cukic/Associated Press" itemprop="copyrightHolder">

Djokovic remembers practicing for the victory ceremony on grass in Serbia, holding up a small trophy and saying: “I’m Novak Djokovic. I won Wimbledon.”

But Gencic, a born teacher who was much deeper into means than ends, was not the type to declare a project finished, a quest complete. Though Djokovic did indeed win Wimbledon in 2011, holding the trophy aloft and then eventually showing Gencic, his boyhood mentor, the replica in person in Belgrade, Gencic was well aware there was still one trophy missing from her former prize pupil’s collection.